Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte 8581 Alfred William Goddard 2nd Hampshire - info, advice please

BG2012

I have just started to research my Great-grand Father the Hampshire Museum have been very helpful. As I am new to this I have a few questions regarding the information I have found. It would be wonderful to find a photo of him or his fellow soldiers and officers that he may of trained, fought with but not sure the best way to research this.

Alfred William Goddard 8581 enlisted 1910 aged 19

He is on the 1911 Census in South Africa

Entered theatre of war 25th April 1915 ------------- I am not sure which company he would have been in or which beach he would have landed on. Am i correct that it he would have been in the 88th Brigade 29th Division ?

Shrapnel wound left humerus 6.5.1915

Discharged due to sickness 5.10.1918 ----------------- Would this sickness be due to his injury ? I have not found any information for him between his injury and being discharged,any ideas what or where he would have been between those years ? On his Marriage Cert 1923 his rank /profession is Army pensioner

Hampshire Regimental Journal May 1910 he is listed as Awarded 3rd class for Certificate of education what would this have been for ?

May 1912 he is listed as Granted first for Good conduct badge what would this have been for ?

Does it follow that if a Solider number is 8581 (Alfred W G) and I found another solider with 8582 they would have joined at the same time ?

Alfred died in 1944, so my Dad never knew his Grandad, and his own Father never really spoke about it or his own time in WW2. So I am going to struggle finding info for Alfred and my Grandad in WW2 from family members.