Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

Sign in to follow this  
Guest The Crofter

Another MIC interpretation

Guest The Crofter

I'm pretty new to this whole thing - any help would be appreciated.

I reckon because he got the Victory and the British he probably joined in 1916. He started in the Army service corp as a Driver (Driving what I don't know and why two Reg Nos.) then in the Engineers. Whats the roll and page bit all about?

post-31-1092425692.jpg

Chris_Baker

Hello Crofter, welcome to the forum

Your man was a Driver in the horse sense, ie a he drove a team of horses, pulling a wagon.

The fact that he got the two medals does not imply that he joined after 1916, but that he disembarked in a theatre of war after 1 Jan 1916.

T4 prefix indicates a new army volunteer.

WR RE prefix indicates railway or inland waterways.

The medal roll and page references are a code to his entry in the original medal rolls.

Jock Bruce

Crofter,

don't assume he joined in 1916 - lots of guys who joined earlier didn't go overseas until after 1 Jan 16. It is going overseas that qualifies him for the medals.

T prefix for ASC = horse transport. Motor transport would be 'M'.

WR prefix for RE seems to occur with 3 groups - Railways, Inland Water Transport and Roads & Quarries. WR/297xxx is probably Railways (numbers seem to allocated in different blocks to the 3 groups).

The roll bit refers to hie entry in the Royal Engineers medal roll - the card is an index to the roll.

I don't think there would be much to be gained from looking at the roll - I don't think the RE ones contain unit designations or anything useful like that.

Jock Bruce

Jock Bruce

I should also say that the 335 ASC number may be a Territorial Force one.

Do you know where this chap was from ??

Jock Bruce

Guest The Crofter