Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Gilbert's War - 2/8th West Yorks (Leeds Rifles)

Gmanx

My grandfather Gilbert Myers fought in, and survived the Great War.

I'm a professional animator, and I hope to relate his story in a 20 minute short film to be made by 2014 - a century after hostilities began.

I've managed to find some of his war records, and have some personal mementos passed down through the family.

I've set up a website (which is just a blog for now) here: www.gilbertswar.co.uk.

This is a one-man show, hence the long lead-in time, but it's such a great story that I'm determined to get it out there.

My avatar was embroidered by him while he recovered from his wounds (and was then sent back to fight).

I now know a lot more about Gilbert's wartime experiences - thanks in no small part to the helpful folks here.

I'm looking at styles for the animated content, and, excuse the 'anime' look of the following, but if I can emulate the painterly look for Gilbert's War - I'll be a happy man.

EDIT: Just to be absolutely clear - the way the 3d elements are rendered is ALL that this will have in common with Gilbert's War. Definitely NO anime characters or fantasy content!

• 4 weeks later...

I'm figuring out how I'm going to shoot this... A combination of traditional drawn animation and CG. The CG is there mainly for 'hard-surface' elements like tanks, environments, buildings. Men (and possibly horses) will be hand drawn.

If I drew it all, I'd never get finished!

Anyway, I made a good start on a basic MarkIV - this one will be a low-detail background model.

I'm starting with this to get the workflow sorted, then I'll move on to more detailed work.

Bear in mind that I've just begun, and this is very much a work in progress at a very early stage - but I thought I'd share.

#Sorry for the big pic.#

MarkIV_PaintProgress.jpg

Gary