Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Researching an Italian Soldier

9th Black Watch

When looking through the local press for 1916, I came across a reference to Guiseppe Abbro. He was a hairdresser in my home town and when war was declared apparently returned to Italy and joined the 10th Italian Infantry. The extract mentions he was killed in action at Goritzia. The notice was published on 19 September 1916.

He owned a business in the town and apparently lived there for several years but doesn't appear on the local war memorial.

I've had no experience researching Italian troops and wondered if anyone had any ideas.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated,

Best wishes,

Derek

Look for Tony who posts as Beppo Sapone whose family also went back to Italy to join up, he has researched these men.

When looking through the local press for 1916, I came across a reference to Guiseppe Abbro. He was a hairdresser in my home town and when war was declared apparently returned to Italy and joined the 10th Italian Infantry. The extract mentions he was killed in action at Goritzia. The notice was published on 19 September 1916.

He owned a business in the town and apparently lived there for several years but doesn't appear on the local war memorial.

I've had no experience researching Italian troops and wondered if anyone had any ideas.

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated,

Best wishes,

Derek

Derek

I don't think that it can be done in this case, unless you find an obit. etc in the local paper around the time of his death.

Italian soldiers records from WW1 survive, and are quite detailed. However, they will only release them to the soldiers next of kin/descendant etc.

If you feel like "chancing your arm" you could try and obtain Guiseppe Abbro's papers, but you would need to write in Italian and wait months, and maybe not get a reply at all.

For more details put the word "foglio" into the forum search engine.