Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Ireland - Great War - Photos

M_J_Robinson_Dur

Hello everyone,

I am a post-graduate research student studying Irish Great War veterans' post-war lives in the Irish Free State. I have recently sent abstracts off to the editors of both a World War One association journal and to an online Irish History magazine to publish a small (2000-4000 words) article in the two publications based on my research. However, one stickler to my research is that I have very few photos to accompany my upcoming articles.

If anyone has any decent photos relevant to Ireland's involvement in the Great War - i.e.recruitment posters, men at the front, memorials etc. - then I wouldbe eternally grateful. I have typed in a few basic searches into Google imagesand have attained some decent results but hopefully they can hopefully be improved upon. I will also be sure to comment on their location and provider out of gratitude and legality.

Regards - Michael

• 2 weeks later...

If anyone has any decent photos relevant to Ireland's involvement in the Great War - i.e.recruitment posters, men at the front, memorials etc. ............ -

Regards - Michael

You will find plenty of memorials at the Irish War Memorial Project. Go to 'Wars' and click on WW I. This will produce a list of the WW I memorials recorded so far.The photographs are free of copyright, but acknowledgement of origin would be appreciated.

If you want to use any, I can provide larger image files of most of them.

Michael Pegum

You will find plenty of memorials at the Irish War Memorial Project. Go to 'Wars' and click on WW I. This will produce a list of the WW I memorials recorded so far.The photographs are free of copyright, but acknowledgement of origin would be appreciated.

If you want to use any, I can provide larger image files of most of them.

Michael Pegum

Hi Michael: