Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help identifying a regiment

9th Black Watch

Hi,

This photo turned up recently in York. It was taken at a studio in Northumberland Street, Newcastle. I'm no expert on cap badges and would value some second opinions.

My first guess was Connaught Rangers but I know several formations had similar badges.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Best wishes,

Derek

post-2-1090512221.jpg

Looks like the Connaught Rangers to me. The Royal Irish had a smaller badge and the scrolls were of different shape. The other three Irish regiments that featured the harp were the 8th Irish Hussars, the Royal Irish Rifles and the London Irish. The Hussars and the Rifles both featured angels on the harps and the London Irish had nothing but a harp. Plus, brass buttons instead of black horn ones for a rifle regiment.

DrB

:)

Cheers Guys,

My first instinct was Connaught Rangers mainly because of the shape and size of the harp and scroll. Thanks for confirming this.

All the best,

Derek

A clear view for confirmation.

post-2-1090537211.jpg

Thanks Desmond,

My next step's to try and identify him.

Best wishes,

Derek

My guess is that he is a cadet as he is wearing a sam browne but no pips.

Tom

I think it's a wonderful picture!

What about the 'ribbon' above his pocket .. if it is a ribbon?

Des

Just thought - could he be, as Tom says, a cadet ... but someone who has served as a ranker elsewhere and has recently been promoted and is undergoing training? Don't know if it worked that way so I'm guessing here!

My guess is that he is a cadet as he is wearing a sam browne but no pips.

Didn't cadets wear a white band on the eppaulette? My guess is that he actually has been commissioned as an officer and is wearing a cuff-rank tunic. His "pips" would be on his cuff.

Dave.

The detail on the original is a lttle clearer than the scan. He's definately wearing a star ribbon.