Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

George Addison , East Surrey regt.

tony paley

When I left school in 1955 I was a trainee in a factory at Walton on Thames. My instructor was a man called George Addison. He had served in a Regular Battalion of the local East Surrey Regiment. I intended to enlist when old enough and he would entertain me with stories of his own WW1 experience, including the fact that he had been captured. the only information I have is that he may well have enlisted just before the war, not sure about that, and he was from Walton on Thames area in Surrey. I would be intersted to at least have some idea what Battalion he served with so I can put some geography to the experiences he related to me.

Tony P

When I left school in 1955 I was a trainee in a factory at Walton on Thames. My instructor was a man called George Addison. He had served in a Regular Battalion of the local East Surrey Regiment. I intended to enlist when old enough and he would entertain me with stories of his own WW1 experience, including the fact that he had been captured. the only information I have is that he may well have enlisted just before the war, not sure about that, and he was from Walton on Thames area in Surrey. I would be intersted to at least have some idea what Battalion he served with so I can put some geography to the experiences he related to me.

Tony P

There only appears to be 1 George Addison with a Medal Index Card for the East Surrey's.

George F Addison (364654) 7th Bn

Born: Surbiton, Surrey

Attested: 7th October 1914

Attestation place: Weybridge

Entered theatre of war, France: 28th July 1915.

There only appears to be 1 George Addison with a Medal Index Card for the East Surrey's.

George F Addison (364654) 7th Bn

Born: Surbiton, Surrey

Attested: 7th October 1914

Attestation place: Weybridge

Entered theatre of war, France: 28th July 1915.