Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

German bsckpack

rayoung74

Wotcha guys

I have need of your brains once again. I recently purchased a Backpack German but am unsure how old. I assume there is somewhere that there should be a date or year of manufacture on it. I will be posting a couple of picture's tomorrow to make life easier for you.

Thanks

Youngie

Wotcha guys

I have need of your brains once again. I recently purchased a Backpack German but am unsure how old. I assume there is somewhere that there should be a date or year of manufacture on it. I will be posting a couple of picture's tomorrow to make life easier for you.

Thanks

Youngie

A lot of German kit was marked with the year of manufacture, and perhaps a code for the manufacturer. (I am not an expert here, but they lurk in dark corners of the Forum) My father told me that the boots that he was issued as he entered the German Army in 1915 were older than he was.

Bob Lembke

I recently bought and sold a WW2 Pony-fur backpack. This was marked on the top central leather fitting with the makers name and the date (1939 in that case). The wide straps were also maker and date marked. I would have thought WW1 packs would be the same.

John

Sorry for the delay guys here are the pictures as promised.

post-29816-0-15230900-1309713521.jpg

There are a few more to follow.

post-29816-0-32835900-1309714184.jpg

Alittle aside with this picture. What you are looking at is the inside of the pack. The flap that covers this is attached with a wooden rod which you can remove. The flaps you can see in this picture cover the inside of the pack which dimensions are approximatley 2 ft 4 high 1 ft wide and 3 inches deep.

As mentioned in the previous post this is the top flap removed with the large internal pocket visible. The leather loops on the right of the pcture are where the wooden rod attaches this part too the main body of the pack.

post-29816-0-17181400-1309714871.jpg