Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Searching for Information

RussT

• Admin

Hi All

Newbie here - hoping someone can point me in the right direction and/or have any information on the following:

Dad & I recently visited the resting place of his Uncle (my Great Uncle) Thomas Hayes of Chester. He's lies in Boulogne Eastern Cemetery, died, age 25, on 12/07/1917. He's recorded (GWGM) as being Private 25911 in the 15th Bn Lancashire Fusiliers.

I wish to do some research into his (short) military record but I seem to have stumbled at the first hurdle. Looked in the National Archives but couldn't find him – but then did a few wildcard searches and came up with a Thomas Hays with No 25911 of the Lancashire Fusiliers. Despite the incorrect surname, I downloaded that assuming it's his MIC (could that be right?) but there's not much on it - gives the same (incorrect?) surname, just says Lan. Fus. and then some Refs next to Victory and British Medals (are these awarded posthumously?).

A few queries:

Is this likely to be the correct MIC for this man?

Given that he lies in Boulogne and it states died, do I assume that he died of wounds? Could it be an illness or an accident?

Isn't the 15th Bn Lanc. Fus. the 1st Salford Pals? Just wondering how common it is that someone, for example, from Chester could be enlisted in that Bn. Is that common?

Where would you advise I go next to establish where he may have fought etc and how he may have been wounded etc?

Any help much appreciated,

Russell

Russell

Yes the 15th are the Salford pals. I'm sure he is not an orginal pal.

He is remebered In Chester Town Hall. Carls Cam

Outer Panel 4

Pte Robert J L GRINDLEY, 9th South Lanc's

Pte Terrence HADDOCK, 12th Cheshire

Joseph HALL, SS "Diomede"

L Cpl Albert E HARGROVE, 15th Cheshire

Sergt Major George HARP, 1st Cheshire

QMS F HARRIS, RASC

Sergt C R HARRISON, 5th Cheshire

Cpl Joseph HARRISON, 9th Royal Welsh Fusiliers