Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Complete Beginner What are they for?

snice

CharlesErnestTerryWW1Medals.jpg

I was recently given my Great Grandfather's medals and no one in my family knows what each medal was for exactly, so i was wondering if anybody could help me identify them.

Thanks

Sarah

The medal on the right looks like the 1916 version of the Meritorious Service Medal - a medal awarded for either gallantry "not in the presence of the enemy", or for prolonged excellent service.

Steve.

Or more likely the Long Service & Good Conduct Medal George V Field Marshal Bust, Type,1911~1930,awarded for exemplary service over a period of years,@ this period IIRC 22 years LONG service with Good Conduct {many men did the time but failed on the Good Conduct element!!} The MSM had a centre white stripe to the ribbon.

The Obverses are identical for both the MSM & LSGC Medals,the reverses are different the LSGC has "FOR LONG SERVICE AND GOOD CONDUCT" on the reverse [back] the Meritorious Service Medal a wreath with "Victorian" Crown atop & the Words "FOR MERITORIOUS SERVICE " on the reverse

I thought that there was an MSM for a short while with no centre stripe, but medals are not my thing, so I will defer to the expert!

Steve.

To answer your question, snice: 1914/15 Star, British War Medal, Victory Medal, Long Service & Good Conduct Medal (post 1910 - pre 1920). The 1914-15 Star was issued to officers and men of British and Imperial forces who served in any theatre of the War between 5 August 1914 and 31 December 1915 (other than those who had already qualified for the 1914 Star). Those who received the 1914/15 Star (or the '14 Star) also received the British War Medal and Victory Medal. Antony

So most likely a professional soldier before WW1 started.

Hi

If you can post the details on the back of the star or the rims of the others I am sure we could find other information for you also.