Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Odd name stamping on BWM

Tinhat47

This is the British War Medal for 114522 W.O. Cl. 2 John Robert Crisp, RE, top.

The stamping of his name looks very different from what is usually on the BWM, as on the bottom medal to Pioneer H.S. Collins, RE -- much bigger and spaced out.

Has anyone seen a larger font like this before? Is this an original medal or something made up later?

183057_10150432310980082_525160081_17609611_2171082_n.jpg

195973_10150432311055082_525160081_17609612_3595402_n.jpg

Matt,

I am not an expert in medal numbering but for interests sake that name and number does not show up on Ancestry's medal roll index.

Matt,

I am not an expert in medal numbering but for interests sake that name and number does not show up on Ancestry's medal roll index.

Yes it does !

Steve

Both the BWM and VM were named by a number of machines and probably by a number of vendors so there is great variation in the namings, including the larger letters on your BWM. That said, what bothers me is the lack of stops between the letters in the rank and the initials. Dick Flory

This type of impressing is O.K. :thumbsup:

Steve,

Got me tossed, only two Crisps showed up on my search, neither of which was the right one, I apologise for the error.

what bothers me is the lack of stops between the letters in the rank and the initials. Dick Flory

Unusual, Dick, but I`d still be happy with the medal. :)

Thank you for allaying my fears, gentlemen!

And yes, the missing periods is very strange. Even upon magnification, there's not ever the slightest hint of them.

I had a R.N. one stamped very much the same way & there was nothing wrong with that one!

• 3 weeks later...