Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

How long would you wait....?

Nick

How long would you be prepared to wait for a book after ordering it from a bookseller?

I'm current awaiting £70+ worth of Official Histories from NMP for an order that's now almost three months old (which I was originally told was "just a few days" delay). Of course, I have already paid.

On the phone today they tell me that they are still expecting to get the books in, but won't now even offer a delivery date. I'm not experienced such delays before. I get the feeling I am in for a long haul. Am I not being patient enough? Is this normal?

BTW, enquiries of other booksellers that are offering similar books on abebooks suggests that even when the book is listed, it doesn't mean they've got one.

How long would you be prepared to wait? I want the books!!

You would have a very good case for demanding your money back if they promised that they would be despatched shortly. It could be that they just do not have very good customer service in not keeping you updated if there is a significant delay in its publication and dissemination to bookshops, so wherever you go you might have to wait since they would be waiting on their suppliers.

If you cancelled your order, however, you might find equal or greater difficulty with any other seller, for all would be anxious to secure your order a.s.a.p. and you may just end up further down the list of waiting customers if you transferred your order.

Maybe just remember to not use their service again - perhaps send an email to this effect and they may give you a freebie: there is a lot of commercial pressure in this area.

Richard

I thought NMP didn't debit cards until product had been despatched.

Or perhaps you paid by cheque....