Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Sprottau

jimbobsson

I have a number of postcard photos of the WW1 PoW camp "Sprottau" in lower Silesia,Poland.Now known as "SZPROTAWA". Little is known about it.Some say it was for prisoners with TB and other illnesses.Some that it was international prisoners,and that it was a very bad camp.My postcards appear to be of a Propaganda nature.They show the prisoners had theatres,churches,hospitals,Small holdings,raised pigs,chickens,vegetables.held committees and were generally well looked after.Why is so little known about it.

All my images are scanned using "Jpeg"and would appear to be too big to attach to this message??. Can anyone help with either of these problems.I am very new to this forum and new to computers.Any help greatfully received.jimbobsson

John,I'm Very new to this and other site on WW1.The lack of SPROTTAU PoW camp information is the only thing I'm following at present.I shall give your"site info"a go.Any success I'll post here.Many thanks.Sprottauboy

Hi John,I have looked at the site you suggested:www.gutenberg-e.org/steuer and found it very interesting.The Y.M.C.A. organisation did great work for PoW camps in Europe and mentioned the "Propaganda Camps" where the prisoners got the best of things.Sprottau camp was mentioned a couple of time but, without any details.I will keep digging and hope someone else has more info. Thanks again for your info.Sprottauboy

• 2 weeks later...

Hi, read your post and I am very interested in any photos of Sprottau POW camp. My grand father was a POW there from 1916 until the end of the war. I know the camp held Russians, French and English. Some worked on local frams and others in local factories, there was an infirmary dealing with all kinds of illnesses the prisoners had. I beleive TB was a big problem in the camp, grand father was in it himself for some months.