Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Post War Change In Religion

General Confusion

Hi, I am new to this so please excuse any faux pas in etiquette

I am fortunate in that my Granddad's army papers survived the blitz

He joined the RFA 1900, he did 8+4, he then re-engaged and was demobbed in 1919. After a few months he re-enlisted in the RAMC for a year - presumably because jobs were hard to come by, there was a need for chaps in the RAMC and it would be a plus to his army pension.

My question is this - On his original sign-up papers in 1900 he ticks the "Protestant" box, but in 1919 he ticks the "Catholic" box. Did he do this because Catholics would be less likely to be sent to Ireland?

Any light that can be shed, most gratefully appreciated

My question is this - On his original sign-up papers in 1900 he ticks the "Protestant" box, but in 1919 he ticks the "Catholic" box.

There are many reasons that he may have done this ... from it being a mistake on one set of papers to him actually changing for one reason or another. My own (maternal) grandad changed from Cof E to RC in order to avoid the obstacles and hassles that 'mixed marriages' threw up them days when he was to marry my catholic grandmother (and got shunned by his own brothers for doing so!). Oddly enough, my paternal grandfather did exactly the opposite...changed from RC to CoE before marriage, for exactly the same reason (and, thereby leaving me with a mixed RC/CoE parentage).

dave

My uncle was C of E when he joined up in 1914 but RC when he was demobbed in 1919 - he converted at some time during the war. Never spoke about any detail or reason though. He never married so that is an unlikely reason in his case.

I recall reading about one soldier (C of E) who converted to Catholicism post war simply because he had more admiration of the Catholic padres in the war zone than he had for the C o E's he encountered.

Dave