Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Harp and Crown

tommy mcclimonds

Pals

Picked up the attached poster and I thought I would bring it to the attention of anyone interested. Venue, dates and times are as per poster. Anyone not familiar with Lisburn the Linen Centre is the large building right in the middle of the city. It will be well worth the effort attending - and admission I am told is free.

Regards, Tommy.

post-29775-074232100 1284465644.jpg

Serious question, Tommy.

Can only line regiments be considered as Irish?

I ask because of the lack of their badge in the line up on the poster.

Does their Household status somehow disqualify them from being Irish?

I might drop in on the exhibition at some stage.

Cheers,

Nigel

Hi Nigel

With the central prominence of the badge of the Royal Irish and the badges of it's antecedant regiments the poster suggests to me where the focus will be. I have no insider knowledge or information but will certainly go along to the exhibition to have a good look round.

Regards, Tommy.

Thanks for your reply Tommy. I've just re-read my post and it makes no sense!

I was asking why the Irish Guards' badge was not depicted in the line up, but I've also noticed that the cavalry regiments are not represented either.

Cheers,

Nigel

Is that a London Irish Rifles badge? - certainly not a "line" regiment.

With the central prominence of the badge of the Royal Irish and the badges of it's antecedent regiments the poster suggests to me where the focus will be.

Quite. No Royal Dublin Fusiliers, no Munsters, no Leinsters, no Connaught Rangers .... you could never accuse an Ulsterman of being narrow minded :)

But to be fair they do say