Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

"The Boiling Point" Punch Cartoon

ciudadmarron

I'm a History teacher and our class has been enjoying some strident debate about who is represented in this cartoon - the figures at the front right and back right specifically. Any help would be appreciated in getting a definative answer - thought this might be a good place to ask!

post-53979-1268355430.jpg

Looks to be Franz Joseph I of Austria front right. Pribably 'John Bull' top left and I guess the gent to his right is French, but I don't know who. Just shows the five great powers. Cheers, Paul.

http://www.cambridgestudents.org.uk/subjec...70_w06_qp_2.pdf

Thanks Paul.

We had John Bull and the German obviously but the similar hats of the figures on the right had us confused. If front and right is Franz Joseph (which I think matches now that I look at it), then who is front left? If it is the five powers, then it makes it Russia - any ideas who it could be? It seems to be not a generic Russian, like the generic Frenchman at the back... Nicholas Nikolaevich perhaps?

The date of 1912 makes this an interesting one since the troubles the five countries are trying to contain erupted into the Balkan Wars around that time. I'd hazard a guess that the front left represents Russia.

Keith

My first thought on back right was Italian but I think it must be France.

Neil

Bottom right I would say King Peter I of Serbia.

The hat may be John Bull, but why, England Kept clear of this conflict along with France. Turkey would be a guess for top right.

Alan

THIS may help a bit, since the First Balkan War broke out in October 1912.

EDIT Also THIS.

Keith

Victor Emmanual of Italy would fit the top right but bottom left looks more like Tsar Aleksandr Aleksandrovich than Nicholas. , None of them match the Sultan of Turkey (see photo)

post-9885-1268479415.jpeg

I would say that Top Right is Ferdinand of Bulgaria