Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Guide Price Advice

dave hanks

Hello

There is a general sale here on soon and listed as 1 lot is a trio and plaque to Pte Frank Bryce 20324 Yorks Reg, KIA 19/12/1915, and a pair to Pte J Yates 5-4592 Northumberland Fus. Medical discharged 19/1/1917. I checked the medal cards and they seem genuine.

I am going to the viewing on Friday and if OK, I am thinking of leaving a bid. I'm new to this medal collecting, and would like the Bryce medals to research, as he was a local man.

Question is how much do I bid? I've seen prices on ebay, but most of the sellers appear to be dealers, so wouldn't probably give a realistic auction price.

Any help or advice would be appreciated

Many Thanks

Dave

If its a 15 star trio + plaque around £175-200 if a 14 star trio £200-250 + . The pair is worth approx £30. These are based on internet auctions, dealers would charge considerably more. If there are any extras such as the scroll or the boxes the value can be higher. If you are in Yorkshire where there will be Yorkshire rgt collectors expect the group to go to the higher side of the value.

I aggre with the value, auctions however often go a lot higher as people beleive it is new to the market so they go for a lot more , it is actually cheaper sometimes to buy direct from dealers , i am sure some do this then enter it in the local auction to the medals and make a good profit!!

Rich M :blink::poppy::ph34r:

Blimey..Looking at £300 top end for the lot? They havn't given a guide price for them. Usually do if the lots valued over £100! They sold a 1915 silver trench watch a couple of months ago for £40.

You never know........