Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Training trenches at RAF Halton, Bucks

June Underwood

In todays Bucks Herald there is an article and photo of the WW1 training trenches at RAF Halton. RAF personnel have been excavating the trenches for the last 2 weeks. Bully beef cans, pottery and plates have been found. The trenches were first built by the Yorkshire Regiment in 1914, then taken over by the Royal Anglia Regiment for the RAF to eventually go there in 1918. When the trenches have all been excavated they will be preserved and it will be dedicated as a heritage site and opened to school parties.

I have tried to scan the article and compress it but the smallest I can get is 235 KB but the maximum recommended size is 100K. Is there any way that I can post the article?

June

Hi, I'm Kelvin. Following June's post which I found via search engine, I can confirm that the RAF Halton trench project is going well. I am an instructor involved in the project (yes I did dig in with the trainees) and am looking for images of the trenches from the era they were acually created.

The first site is not far off completion but the main site will be excavated by mod archeologsts.

Here's a picture of a general view of the site:

RAFHaltonTrenchDigging113.jpg

I will try and keep anyone interested informed.

Regards

Kelvin

Kelvin

Excellent photo - pity the Bucks Herald didn't use that in the article. Is there any chance of seeing the trenches yet? I live nearby in Weston Turville.

June