Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Captain Hugh Montgomery Baillie, 16th Royal Irish Rifles (A Company)

Poppy1918

Hi all,

I am studying my masters in historical research and was assigned a project as my first assignment on using public records and avenues to research an individual and i picked a soldier of the Great War as my study piece. While looking on different memorials i saw a name which stood out to me and i began to research a bit further Captain Hugh Montgomery Baillie, 16th Royal Irish Rifles (A Company). I am finding it very interesting yet i am finding i keep stopping and starting, is there anyone who could help me find out more? maybe point me in the right direction. I would love to learn all i can about Hugh! Individual stories afterall are so powerful, i go back to the Somme in November and i would love to lay a wreth for him, knowing more about him and feeling that i can give remembrance to one individual the world will never forget.

Poppy :poppy:

Searching for Archie since 22/09/2001

Poppy

I would suggest you post what you already know and hopefully we can add to it

Best regards John

Poppy

I would suggest you post what you already know and hopefully we can add to it

Best regards John

Thank you John, below is information i have found out so far about Hugh........

Hugh, the unmarried son of Robert and Sara Baillie of Ellerslie, Ravenhill Park, Belfast, was born in Ballymacarrett, Belfast, on 31st May 1893.

He had served in the Ulster Volunteer Force since its inception, holding the positions of Squad Leader, Section Commander and Half Company Commander.

He was serving his apprenticeship with Carson and McDowell solicitors, Belfast when he enlisted in November 1914, He was accepted for a commission in January 1915, into the 16th Royal Irish Rifles, a pioneer battalion..