Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

WALTER GAWTHORPE, EAST YORKSHIRE/LANCASHIRE FUSILIERS, KIA AUGUST 18th

EAST YORKSHIRE

HELLO ALL, I AM NEW TO THIS (EXCELLENT) SITE. I AM THE GREAT GRANDSON OF WALTER GAWTHORPE WHO WAS KIA ON THE SOMME IN AUGUST 1918 AGED 28, HE IS BURIED AT BERTRANCOURT CEMETARY, SOUTH OF ARRAS, IT WAS ORIGINALY A FIELD AMBULANCE STATION SO AM SUMMISING HE WAS WOUNDED AND DIED OF WOUNDS THERE. I HAVE BEEN TO HIS GRAVE TO SAY HELLO AND LAY A WREATH A COUPLE OF TIMES- THE FIRST TIME WAS 11/11/2007 AND WHILE WE WHERE THERE THE LOCAL VILLAGERS CAME AND INVITED US TO THE VILLAGE HALL WHERE THE MAYOR MADE US JOIN THEIR CELEBRATIONS AND LEFT THERE QUITE DRUNK!. I WORK FOR THE MOD AT LECONFIELD NEAR BEVERLEY, EAST YORKSHIRE AND IN MAY 2010 AM TAKING A COACH LOAD OF COLLEAGUES TO YPRES AND SOMME STAYING IN ARRAS. I HAVE TRIED TO FIND OUT MORE ABOUT MY GREAT GRANDFATHER WITHOUT MUCH LUCK, I KNOW HE STARTED OUT IN THE EAST YORKSHIRE REGT, SERVICE NUMBER 4185 and 201363, I AM ASSUMING HE WAS PUT IN THE LANCASHIRE FUSILIERS DUE TO DEPLETED REGIMENTS, HIS SEVICE NUMBER IN THE LANCS FUSILIERS WAS 236002, ANY ADVICE OR INFO ON MY GREAT GRANDFATHER WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED, BEST WISHES TO YOU ALL, IAN GAWTHORPE (PROUD YORKSHIREMAN!!).

Here is the CWGC entry.

Click on the link.

This confirms his date of death, age, unit, address etc.

http://www.cwgc.org/search/casualty_detail...casualty=118158

Also his medal index card, which tells us he was entitled to the 1914-15 Star, British War Medal, and Victory Medal. He landed in France 27/10/1915.

I had a quick look to see if there were any Service/Pension Records. So far this is all I could find.