Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Naval binoculars

nicole

My Grandfather served in the navy during WW1. I believe that up to 1915 he was in West Africa. He served on HMS Broke and I understand that he was present at Jutland. He also appears to have served in Roumania at some time during the war as he has a medal presented by the Roumanian govt. He was a signaller and I have a pair of binoculars that according to family tradition he was given by a German sailor. The binoculars are ivory and brass with a leather case and are of the Galliean type. The makers name is Watkins and Hill London. This seems to contradict the German story. I understand that during the war there was a shortage of binoculars and they were obtained from various sources. To me these binoculars look more like opera glasses. I wonder if anybody can clear up this mystery?

Nicole.

I'm no expert in the area of naval binoculars but am curious. This website here appears to have some info, though judging from the wording of your post, you may have already seen it.

http://www.oldbinoculars.com/index.html

No mention of Watkins and Hill, as far as I can see. Perhaps contact the site owner? There doesn't seem to be any shortage of German makers listed there, although not sure about WW1.

I've always imagined naval binoculars to be bigger than opera glasses but perhaps those used by signallers were different to the binoculars used by, for example, lookouts scanning the horizon for ships.

With the family story, was the suggestion that it was during war time, i.e. that he came into contact with a German sailor when prisoners were taken? You may be able to check the histories of the ships listed in his service record to try to establish if any are likely candidates, i.e. situations where prisoners were taken aboard.