Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

G/32746, Henry John Walter Horace NORRIS, 16th Battalion Middx Reg.

Addzking

I am currently researching an ancestor of mine who served in the 16th Battalion in the Middlesex Regiment. I know he was killed in action 11th August 1917. Aged 21. Enlisted Mill Hill, resident of Edgware, Middlesex.

His name is commemorated on YPRES (MENIN GATE) MEMORIAL, Ieper, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium and I am off there shortly to view it (for the 2nd time). Am I correct in saying that if his name is on that memorial, his body was never giving a burial, or was not found etc?

Is it possible to find out how he was killed, what duties he was performing at the time etc? Is it possible to narrow down the location on where he was killed?

My estimation was that he could have been stationed in between Pilkem and Langemark when he was killed, but as I am new to researching military history, I wanted to get some more opinions from here!  :D

Is anyone able to shed any more information on this soldier or the actions of the 16th Battalion Middx Reg. during August 1917?

Any information would be most appriciated!

Hi I believe the 16th Middlesex Regiment ( Public Schools)were with the 29th Division at Ypres in August and September of that year around Langemarck.

I`m sure an expert will be along soon to put that right.here is your mans MIC to be going on with.And yes he has no known grave.

post-10020-1249300742.jpg

all the best Gary.

The best way to find out what his unit were up to and where they were located is to get some kind soul, who has a copy of the battalion diary, to do a look up for you for the date of his death. Be warned though it is very unlikely to mention him by name as he is O.R.

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your search.