Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Researching Pte A E Griffiths - Tank Corps

MsPersistant

As an absolute beginner to this forum...please excuse any clumsy mistakes - although I will endevour to avoid this!

I have been trying to trace back my grandfather Alfred Edward Griffiths to the Great War. He was born in Swindon - September 1896 and served in the Tank Corps - Pte A E Griffiths 309146 - but I have been unable to establish what regiment or division?

Somehow he managed to return safely although he may have been injured - as a tiny tot - I vaguely remember him telling my grandmother that his "plate" was playing up and rubbing his wrist-?

He is long gone now...as is gran and his only child...which leaves me to pick up the past. My grandmother outlived him by about five or six years...but sadly - just before she died - she "put her house in order" and disposed of many papers and belongings. This included my grandfather's medals - I was far too young to realise what a catastrophe this was and only now conjure up a vague memory of the X3 medals and ribbons and did not even get to hold them...so would not have seen any embossing / info on them.

Something in the back of my mind seems to remember Africa being mentioned - but so young then I would have dismissed this as unthinkable as I was naive enough to think that far back in time...ordinary folk did not travel the world.

After the war he became a linesman for the GPO and by the time WW2 came around he was deemed a) too old and B) more useful carrying on this work - as far as I know - he was in the 22nd Hants (32nd GPO) Battalion Home Guard where he was the section comd. possibly "D" Company - Swindon.