Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Need information for my WWI NOVEL

honorfilms

I am a British writer and have written the first draft of a 1,100 page novel set in WWI. But I have a number of questions to which I have not found the answers.

FYI. My novel deals with the first few months of the war in 1914 only. My protagonist enlists in August, trains in Surrey, graduates mid/late October. He is sent to Ypres from the end of October 1914 to the first couple of days in January 1915. So my questions are within that time period and no further.

Your help in answering any of these questions is much appreciated.

TRAINING

1. What was the most well known, well established Army Training camp in the county of Surrey, England in 1914? Is there an Internet link or a museum there now for research?

2. Civilian clothes. What happens to them when soldiers enlisted and went to training? Do they wear them on days off? Do they even take civilian clothes to war or leave them behind? If they took them with them I presume they were allowed to wear civvies on days off. OR were they expected to be in uniform all the time even on days off?

3. Were British recruits issued rifles or dummy ones at training camp in 1914? Did they use dummy ones for drill and real ones used for bayonet practice and rifle range training? Or real ones all the time?

4. If they were issued Lee Enfield rifles at training camp in UK did they leave them behind for new recruits or take with them to war? In other words did their rifle accompany them from the UK to Europe?

5. Where new soldiers divided into companies, platoons, sections etc. at training camps from the onset or after they graduated OR even when they arrived to replace losses in battle?

6. How big are squads, sections when performing drill at training? 30, 60, 90 men to a squad when performing drill.