Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Zeppelin raid on The Strand

Guest HUGH_NOBLE

Guest HUGH_NOBLE

Hi

I stumbled on this forum while searching for information on My Grandfather whom I had never met. I am impressed and moved by the amount and detail of the information held by members. I am new to this or any other forum so please be patient - I will learn and hope not to pick up bad habits. The family story is that my grandfather was a civilian going about his lawful occasion in The Strand when a shell exploded above his head, profoundly affectin his brain. He was unable to work again and was admitted to Friern Hospital (Colney Hatch) in about 1918. He died there in 1952. His name was Davis Nodle/Noble. I am waiting to see if there are details of his admission. I could not understand why the word used was "shell" and not "bomb". until I chanced on an extensive quote from the New York Times of October 25 1915. I quote one paragraph... "The civil engineer went on to say that the government suppressed all details of the shells fired from the anti-aircraft guns at the Zeppelins. The shells generally went wide of the mark," he said, "but had to fall somewhere. The damage to St. Bartholomews Hospital on Sept 8th was chiefly caused by the shells from the anti-aircraft guns and not by the bombs." Any information on the general circumstances or his particular case would be appreciated.

Hi HughNo.

Referring to 'The Air Defence of Britain 1914-1918', by C. Cole & E.F. Cheesman, the only info I can glean for you is the following:

The incident involving your Grandfather would have happened on the night of 13th/14th October 1915. On this date, the Germans launched their most ambitious and successful raid of the war so far.

Five Zeppelins; L11, L13, L14, L15 & L16 were sent to bomb London. Of those five, only L15, commanded by Kplt Joachim Breihaupt, actually attacked central London.