Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Transfer to Labour Corps (again)

Chris_Baker

According to the service papers of a soldier I am studying, he was “compulsorily and temporarily” transferred to join 199 Company of the Labour Corps on 10 August 1918. This was authorised under Army Council Instruction 916. Was this a medical downgrading, or an organisational thing?

Chris

Am just catching up with the Forum after a few days shopping in Edinburgh!!

I have not got a copy of ACI 916 for either 1917 or 1918. So either I have missed one relating to the Labour Corps or it is a general ACI.

I have not copied each of the ACI's that laid down which unit a man should be put in on enlistment. However as he was transferred these ACI's would not apply to him - I take it he was transferred from another unit?

You have me intrigued!

Talking of tranfers to the Labour Corps - I am part way through trawling through the latest MIC releases for the 9th King's Liverpool Regt and I am intigued by the number who transferred.

Are there any number blocks available to show me which Labour Corps units these men went to initially, based on their new service number, or can any other information be gleaned from these numbers?

I'm not able to get to the NA for some time and when I do time might not allow me to look for the papers of many of these men.

Regards,

Ken

Info can be gleaned from numbers - what is the series?

Ian,

I have 40 men so far who served in the Labour Corps after serving in the 9th King's. The numbers vary from 118***, all 6-digit numbers but mostly starting with 5 or 6.

Regards,

Ken

Guest Ian Bowbrick

Ken,

If their Labour Corps numbers are 118*** (?), unit information will be forthcoming when I get to my paperwork this evening, as they were original members of the Corps.

Ian