Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Death of Lt Col Edgar Mobbs, 7th Battalion, Northamptonshire Regt

Ian C

Hi

Can anyone help me with the name of the bunker that Edgar Mobbs was attacking in Shrewsbury Forest when he was killed, I think it was Lone Star but cannot remember for certain and cannot find it anywhere.

Thanks in advance

Regards

Ian C

I think that Lone Star is right. I'll need to power up the laptop. Back soon!

Steve.

From my short bio from various sources:

(I was thinking of posting it in response to the Rugby World Cup topic)

LIEUTENANT-COLONEL EDGAR ROBERT MOBBS

post-6536-1189367986.jpg

EARLY YEARS

Edgar Robert Mobbs parents married in 1879. Edgar's father, Oliver Linnell Mobbs, an engineer by profession was born in London in 1851. His mother, Elizabeth Anne Hollis, born in 1854, was from Northampton, where the couple married and settled, living at Billings Road, Northampton for many years.

Their third son, Edgar Robert, was born at Billing Road, St. Giles, Northampton on 29th June 1882. Oliver and Elizabeth had five other children, Arthur Noel (b.1880), Herbert (b.1881), twins Elsie and Olive (b. 1884) and Charles (b.1897)

Edgar was educated at Bedford Modern School. A knee injury whilst playing rugby at school interrupted Edgar's sporting ambitions, and he did not "gain his colours". After leaving school, he played centre forward in Olney mixed hockey eleven, and from 1903 he played rugby for Olney, the Weston Turks, and Northampton Heathens.

RUGBY INTERNATIONAL