Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

17th Battalion Manchester Regiment

ddavemanc

Hello Everyone

This is my first time on the forum, so hope i am on the right section?

I am trying to find out more information on the where abouts of the 17th bat Manchester Regiment on the 18th June 1917? Where they in a battle at the time?

I'm researching a private who served with the manchesters and died of wounds on the 18th june.

Any information would be greatly apreceated

Many thanks

Dave

Welcome to the Forum, Dave.

The battalion was actually having a nice quiet time of it and the war diary isn’t much help noting only three minor casualties as below . They were around Zillebeke. Here’s the diary entry:

“13/14 June – On the night of 13/14 June at 1am, a raiding party consisting of 2nd Lt. Knowles and 53 ORs entered enemy lines and took 2 prisoners – our casualties 3 OR slightly wounded.

14/15 June – The battalion relived by 18th Bn Manchester Regiment and 1st Battalion Worcester Regiment. “B” Company moving back to Zillebeke Bund, Battalion HQ, “A”, “C” & “D” to Chateau Segard.

15 June to 20 June – “B” Coy at Zillebeke Bund formed a working party under the supervision of No. 2 Canadian Tunnelling Company. The Batt. Less “B” Coy resting, refitting and training (as far as was possible in the forward area) by sections.”

Nothing obvious that helps, I’m afraid. Presumably, the “slight” wounds recorded in the diary were not so slight. I take it your man died close to this location and not miles away at a General Hospital which might suggest a much earlier incident.

John

Welcome to the Forum, Dave.

The battalion was actually having a nice quiet time of it and the war diary isn't much help noting only three minor casualties as below . They were around Zillebeke. Here's the diary entry: