Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Where is this?

IanA

I have a copy of an aerial photograph which belonged to a gunner from a siege battery positioned near Ypres. It has 'Zonnebeke Road' on the back but I wondered if anyone can pin it down.

The notes in the top right hand corner read:

T.B.10.

28.I.16d.22a

14--7-18-11

F=8 1/4"

ZonnebekeRoad.jpg

Ian

I.16.d 22.a would put it just north west of Zillebeke not Zonnebeke which is in the D square However I dont have any maps from 1918 and cant place it on any of my 1917 maps as there is nothing that lines up with the curved formation on the left hand side.

Tim B

Ian,

I'll have a look ,have some maps frome zonnebekeroad , but I have a feeling your picture is closer to zillebeke, could be wrong, aerial's I'm not that good at.

kind regards

sabine

Where do we end up if we change ...22a in ...22c?

Roel

Ian,

I'll have a look ,have some maps frome zonnebekeroad , but I have a feeling your picture is closer to zillebeke, could be wrong, aerial's I'm not that good at.

kind regards

sabine

Hope this helps if I have learnt correctly how to read maps and aerial phots...I assume the 2 2 A would place it bottom left?

John

post-41464-1236500866.jpg

Hope this helps if I have learnt correctly how to read maps and aerial phots...I assume the 2 2 A would place it bottom left?

John

From March 1918, closet I can get to the date, I have tried overlaying it and the tracks to the south do allign if you rotate the aerial phot quite a bit but I am sure this defeats the object of the excersise?

John

post-41464-1236501418.jpg

Many thanks to those trying to help. I must admit, I'm clueless about the information which is written on the photo - I have lots of trench maps on CD rom but my refs are 28NE or 28 SE - what is this 28.I.16d.22a? I had assumed that 14-7-18 was the date it was taken - what about the 11 following? What does T.B.10 indicate?

All suggestions gratefully received.

Ian