Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

William Davies

murray lloyd

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this, but I'm trying to trace some info about my grandfather who served in 1914-1918.

On his 1914-15 star medal it has "SAR OPS L.I." He was from Gloucester and I think he went to India for a time.

His name is William Davies, don't know if he had a middle name or where he was born.

Any info on his military service, (what regiment, where he fought, was posted to, etc)would be greatly appreciated or any ideas

as to where to try next.

I will try to get the number off the 1914-15 star if that will help.

Welcome Murray. I wish you luck with your search. A number off the medal will help. Also, click on "long long trail" near the top left of this website - it is the ultimate guide.....

Regards

Andrew

Murray

The abbreviation on the medal - could it be "Shrops LI" - Shropshire Light Infantry were part of the Gloucestershire Regiment. There is at least one William Davies who served. The number i have for that man is 1458, but his Medal Index Card only refers to a Silver War Badge (basically had to retire from active service as a result of wound/injury sustained in the field) and fails to give the "full story" i.e. does not mention first theatre of action etc.

Andrew

Hi Murray

Welcome to the forum! If you can post as much personal info. as you can about William, family details etc any old addresses, it helps to narrow the search down when looking through papers on Ancestry. It is quite common to trace a soldier from the census records if he joined up prior to the War. Look forward to searching for you.

Regards Barry

Hi Murray