Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Which Battallion?

Drumcree

Trying to trace my father's battallion,RGA. His service number was 76902. Was he Regular Army or Kitchener's army? Is it possible to find out more onfo.? He survived the war and died in 1974.

Hello Richard.

I am no expert on the RGA(Royal Garrison Artillery?)but seems like a 1916 number,or slightly before.

My great grandads number in the MGC was 73313,and i believe he was given this number in the middle of 1916.

Do you know his year of birth?

This may give you an idea of when he enlisted or was conscipted.

Good hunting Richard.

All the best.

Simon.

Simon

The MGC was not formed until October 1915 so you are not comparing like with like.

The RGA number was issued around mid May 1916 which indicates either a Derby man or a conscript - but, more likely the former.

Probably would have trained at Fort Brockhurst, Gosport.

regards

Mel

Hello Mel.

A very interesting comment you have made,with reference to the RGA numbering system.

On the 14th of October 1915,if my memory serves me right, the MGC was formed and,much like your thoughts on George,Oscar was a Derby man(attested 10.12.15 at Pangbourne,Berks)who was originally 6514 Pvt O.Furnell,3/5th Royal Berks,before being transfered to the MGC sometime in 1916,i believe sometime in July 1916 or though it may have been before this.

Do you think there is the possibilty that there were a few 73313's within the armed forces at this time,or maybe there was a different numbering system used for Derby men?.

See what i mean by an interesting coment.

All the best.

Simon.

Do you think there is the possibilty that there were a few 73313's within the armed forces at this time,or maybe there was a different numbering system used for Derby men?.

Simon