Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Maldon (Essex) casualties

stephen p nunn

Dear all - although I have been undertaking research into the Great War for many years now, I am new to this forum so I hope that my approach is correct. According to the Maldon (Essex) War Memorial there were 146 men from the town killed in the Great War. However, the true number (including Heybridge) was nearer to 250. Over the years I have traced the stories behind all but 14 of them. I feel that I have exhausted all of the possible sources and wondered if any of you know who these men are and why they have Maldon connections:

On the main Town Memorial

George Boreham

Edwin Hatley

Samuel Hitchen

George William Howard

Gerald Pearson

Frederick J. Pitman

Frank C. Stammers

On the brass plaque in St. Mary's Church

John Anderson

George Lee Bastin

George Beatty

Claude Fitzroy Clarke

James E.B. Macaulay

Joseph Pinches

Arthur Alfred Robotham

Thanks very much (in advance) for any help.

SPN

Firstly, welcome to the best-informed Forum on the web. It is, be warned, highly infectious.

I well remember standing on the Hard, pint in hand, watching the Thames river barges race on the Blackwater......happy days.

Do you have SDGW?

Want them looked up?

Got the Mics?

Just ask...............

Bruce

Firstly, welcome to the best-informed Forum on the web. It is, be warned, highly infectious.

I well remember standing on the Hard, pint in hand, watching the Thames river barges race on the Blackwater......happy days.

Do you have SDGW?

Want them looked up?

Got the Mics?

Just ask...............

Bruce

Thanks Bruce - good to hear from you. I too have had many a good pint down at the Hythe! I have been through all the usual routes - SDGW, CWGC, all the military stuff on Ancestory but keep drawing blanks on these last few.

Regards.

SPN