Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

From a very new newbi.

barlykins

post-37803-1233182132.jpgWould someone be kind enough to give me any information on this photo? I think it is of my grandfather's brother and I am led to believe he was from London his name is Phillip Allen. Thank you

Well.

I'm no expert, but I see he is wearing wither the 1914 or 1914/15 Bar, along with it looks like the British War Medal. The stripes indicate years service abroad and looks like that single stripe is a Wound Stripe. I did a quick look on Ancestry for his MIC, but there are quite a few listed. So I'm sure, some of the other Pals on here can recognize the badge cap and that will help the search.

Jason.

Great picture:

Right sleeve - five overseas service stripes, one for service overseas every year from 1914-18 (these would have been red for 1914, blue thereon)

Left sleeve – two good conduct badges (inverted chevrons), showing, I believe 4 years good conduct, vertical stripe is for one wounding, crossed rifles indicates a marksman (the man you want is 'Grumpy' here - he will no doubt put me right if I've strayed off course).

Top right sleeve shows a formation badge or 'battle patch', again someone will help with that too, same with medal ribbons, although eh left one is the 1914 or 1915 star (both had same ribbon)

Cap badge? A bit more difficulty. I would take a shot at the 10th Hackney Battalion, London Regiment, but this is a long shot. Its unusual shape is deceiving....

Peter

He looks like a Private with 6 years good conduct (2 chevrons on left arm) who served overseas in all the years 1914 through to 1918 (five chevrons on right) arm. He has been wounded once. He is a marksman (crossed rifles badge) with a 1914 or 1914-15 Star, and what could be a Territorial Force Efficiency medal?

I think the triangle patch was used by 54th Division so the 10th Londons could be a good fit.