Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

British Army in Romania

Seawalker

Hello everybody,

I am new on this forum and I hope you can help me in my interest for Eastern front and especially Romanian front. I would like to say I am a novice and my knowledge about this part of the front are not so huge.

I would like to know if a British Mission have been sent in Romanian as the French Mission leading by General Berthelot.

I make few research on web but I have not find any information about British soldiers in Romania.

I hope you can help me

(Sorry for my writing, I am not english)

Anthon

Dear Anthon,

Welcome to the Forum!

Don't worry about your English...it is better than my French.

You will find the Forum a very friendly and informative, if addictive, place.

Bruce

Hallo Anthon :D

greetings from Transylvania, Romania, there must have been a British connection as I clearly remember a couple of

years ago a medal bar for a British soldier including a Romanian award "Barbatie si Credentia" literal Manhood & Loyalty

Medal and the official Romanian award Brevet / paperwork.

The seller blurb gave the info that the Sergeant was involved in training Romanians in the use of the Lewis gun.

I will check around and see if i can get something more concrete.

Connaught Stranger.

At the war end of the war the 10th Devons were advancing to the Danube and were ordered to proceed to Bucharest. When the King and Queen of Romania announced that they would return to their capital city, the British Government regretted that there would be no British military presence on parade. General Berthelot (commander of Allied Forces in Romania) requested that the 10th Devons try and get to Bucharest and so they set off on a series of forced marches.