Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Belgian Nurses in Wales (Cardiff)

Guest ksk19

My grandmother Alice Van Puyvelde was evacuated from Belgium in the great war. She was a midwife by trade, but nursed my grandfather in the great war when he was wounded. He returned to war, and again was wounded, and she nursed him again (so the story goes). That was how they met, and they married after.

I am extremely interested in finding some information from the nurses side in the great war, in particular in Cardiff.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for this, (in the way of websites - I'm researching this from Australia), and/or information on the evacuees from Belgium that arrived in southern Wales, during the war time.

I know nothing about my grandmother except her birthdate and place, and would love to fill in some of the years between then and her marriage to George Wall.

Karen

Karen

Is it possible that your grandmother continued to nurse for the Army after her marriage? It may just be a coincidence, but there is a file for an Alice Wall in WO399 at the PRO, employed as a trained nurse in the Territorial Force Nursing Service. If you think it's likely I'll happily have a look at it next time I'm there.

Sue

There were certainly Belgian refugees in Swansea during the Great War. Swansea had some affinity with the Belgian people since at the turn of the century the Swansea metal processing masters prized the smelting skills of the Belgians and advertised local jobs that would suit their skills in the Belgian press.

Bernard Lewis

Sue,

Thanks for replying. On Alice and George's marriage certificate of 1923 , she had no occupation written down, so whether she was working up till then, its possible.

What is the number W0399 for? And the Territorial Force Nursing Service - would they be in Cardiff, as that was where they were married?

Can I ask where you found that information from?

(Pardon my ignorance).

Karen