Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Captain Kenneth Noble Pearson - 962

pearsonica

I have a picture of my Grandfather and it is funny that my mates call me Bigs or Biggles. Seeing him in this Long scarf He must be the original Biggles.

Would he be in front of the Hangers in Birmingham where he learnt to fly?

Could some one also let me know if this crashed aircraft is a newport I can't quite read the number on the tail.

post-41022-1227211573.jpg

post-41022-1227211656.jpg

I'm no expert but didn't the Nieuports with square section fuselages have 'V' struts, not the parrallel ones as shown in the photo?

Steve

The twin bays (i.e two sets of struts between the wings) and the single skid between the wheels suggest this is an Avro 504.

The pale fuselage colour (unpainted doped linen) suggests this is from early in the war, though that is a generalization and its difficult to be certain of colour shades in black and white photos.

I agree with Adrian - it looks like an Avro 504 with a non-standard proportions fuselage roundel.

Gareth

Gareth, I just happened to notice a picture of a crashed 504 in an old C&C journal (1973) that had an identical roundel (both in diameter and position). It was from 52 Training Squadron - but I don't have a date on it.

Steve

Steve

I've seen a few photos of Avros 504s with 'French-style' proportioned roundels, ie 4/7/10 or the modern RAF 1/2/3 rather than the standard RFC/RNAS 1/3/5 (where the first number is the red inner, the second the white circle and the third the blue. It obviously took a while to get things standardised.

Cheers

Gareth

• 11 years later...