Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Cameron Highlanders?

kovalik

Hello,

I am VERY new to WW1 research. I recently received this photo of my great uncle KIA in 05 November 1914.

I believe the uniform to be Cameron Highlanders. Could anyone with knowledge of the unit please verify?

Would he have been wearing a kilt?

Any help would be very greatly appreciated,

Regards from Canada, :D

Georgia

post-41326-1227198038.jpg

Kov.

Could you supply his name and his regimental number if possible.

Rob.

Kov.

Could you supply his name and his regimental number if possible.

Rob.

Yes, of course:

Private James McGENN

7351, 1st Bn., Cameron Highlanders

who died age 27

on 05 November 1914

Thanks! :D

Georgia

Yes, of course:

Private James McGENN

7351, 1st Bn., Cameron Highlanders

who died age 27

on 05 November 1914

Thanks! :D

Georgia

I found a soldier with the following details. 7351 Pte james McGinn 1st Battalion Cameron Highlanders. Born Girvan Ayrshire. Enlisted Kilmarnock Ayrshire. KIA F & F 5th November 1914. could this be your G Uncle.

Cheers Rob.

Georgia

Unfortunately it's not possible to definitively identify the unit from this photo, but it looks like a prewar picture, about 1905-ish. Your man is wearing the slouch hat worn by many units in the Boer War and which continued in use for some years, particularly in Volunteer units. He is also wearing the pre-1903 bandolier, but his jacket has fixed (ie. not detachable) shoulder straps which came in around 1904 (Joe S. will confirm or correct this). You can just see at the bottom of the photo that the jacket is the Scottish cutaway pattern, so he was serving in a Scottish unit when it was taken. He would have been wearing a kilt.

However, this might also be a 1914 picture with him wearing old kit owing to the shortages at that time - you can't be sure either way.

Regards,

W.