Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Private Frank Brack 7th Btn DLI

LesKeen

Hello once again to all forum members.

I am really getting the bug researching relatives who served in the military during the great war and whilst researching my grandfathers military service i found a great-uncle who was killed in action. Does anyone have any information regarding the whereabouts of this battalion around the date of his death. I know this battalion became a Pioneer - not sure what that is - as I am a novice. Hope to build up my knowledge and gain experience as i feel quite useless at the moment and would like to help others too in the future.

Private Frank Brack

7th Btn, DLI

Born: Southwick, Sunderland

Died: 14.11.1916

Cemetary: Caterpillar Valley, Longueval

Cheers

Les

Hi Les,

The 17th Bn DLI became the Pioneer battalion to the 50th (Northumbrian) Division which were engages in the actions around the Butte de Warlencourt around the time of Franks death, he is listed as being killed in action on the 14th november 1916. The battalion war diary is held at the national Archives in WO 95/2823. You can request certain parts of the diary, there is a base rate of £8.50 for 10 pages which usually works out around a month or more worth of diary. The diary may provide an exact location and duties that the battalion carried out on the 14th. There is a brief article here concerning the 50th Division's time on the Somme.

Pioneer battalions first appeared in the British army during the Great War and took the roll that was deemed the exclusive province of the Royal Engineers. These battalions largely comprised men who came from industrial backgrounds and would have been employed in mining, construction, stone masonary etc in civilian life. Pioneers were also infantry soldiers and were kitted out as such, often found in the thick of it when extra manpower was needed.