Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

12th London Regiment - The Rangers

Wattsy

Hello Everyone

I am a newbie to this Site. After years of tracing my family history I have decided to embark on a "new topic" of trying to find out what happened to my Grandfather in WW1 and what he experienced. His name was Edmund Chipchase.

I have found his medal card on Ancestry and now know he enlisted 9/3/1915 No 2933. On his card he has another No 470700 still 12th London. I am interested why he would have been given another number whilst still in the same Regiment.

I know that he was involved at some time in a battle where he was one of very few survivors. A kind person has indicated that it was probably the 2nd battle of Ypres in May 1915. She believes that he would have been one of 53 out of 800 soldiers to have survived. I do remember him telling me about an annual dinner which he used to attend for these remaining fortunate individuals. I am interested if any one knows whether there is a list of the names and, if so, where I could find it.

I am intending to visit Kew to check out the Medal Rolls to establish if there is any further information. However, before I go, is there anywhere else that would have the records for the 12th London Regiment?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Men of the Territorial Force (the portion of the Army that had been part-time before the war, but full-time during) were all renumbered in 1917, partly to ease the confusion of having so many different Regimental numbering systems. These numbers were allocated in the same order as the old numbers (with no number being allocated to dead or already discharged men.)

The date on the medal card is actually the date he went overses, not thedate of enlistment.