Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte H Jelly, 2nd Bn Coldstream Guards

LarryH57

My grandfather Pte Peter Gentry, told me that while he was serving in 2nd Bn Coldstreams on the Western Front he had a mate called Jelly, which everyone thought was very amusing as a surname, as it is not very common. Some time in 1915 my grandfather and Pte Jelly were detailed to bring up rations in horse drawn wagons to the front line. It was probably part of my grandfathers job as he was a cook by trade. Whereas my grandfather did what he was told, Pte Jelly somehow got waylaid in his wagon and ended up at a local farmhouse where with the occupants of the farm drank much of the rum he was carrying and ate the food. Whether he was arrested or gave himself up I do not know but as a punishment he was sent to the front line and was KIA & never seen again. I have often wondered whether he was shot for desertion, as I have heard that some who were shot were described as KIA as a cover. No doubt someone has researched all the names of the shot at dawn soldiers but for Jelly to be punished by just going to the front (all be it to be KIA) seems quite lenient compared to the treatment of other soldiers who were found behind the lines. I wonder if anyone knows his full name also.

If the story is not a legend, then he is likely to be:

Name: JELLY

Initials: H G

Nationality: United Kingdom

Regiment/Service: Coldstream Guards

Unit Text: 2nd Bn.

Date of Death: 11/07/1915

Service No: 8498

Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead

Grave/Memorial Reference: D. 26.

Cemetery: CAMBRIN CHURCHYARD EXTENSION

post-6536-1226017873.jpg

Steve.

Hi Larry,

Pte Harold George Jelly, KiA 11th July 1915. CWGC entry

Prof. E Jelly, Brain Surgeon built and lived in the Rocket House, Angle, and is just down the road from us...does make me think of the 'Mr Men' books,

Jon