Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lt-Col. William Claudius Casson ASH, 23rd Middlesex Regt

Perth Digger

I am seeking information about Lt-Col. W.C.C.Ash, OC 23rd Middlesex Regiment, who was mortally wounded on 15 September 1916, dying on 29 September. He is buried at Etaples cemetery. I am particularly interested in finding out more about his wife, Edith Learoyd Ash. Any help will be gratefully received.

I am studying 123 Bde and have a few notes on Ash but nothing on his wife I'm afraid. Does his service file still exist at Kew ? 15th Sept was, of course, the battle of Flers (my grandfather was there too).

I am studying 123 Bde and have a few notes on Ash but nothing on his wife I'm afraid. Does his service file still exist at Kew ? 15th Sept was, of course, the battle of Flers (my grandfather was there too).

I have checked WO339, WO374 and WO138, but nothing comes up. I know that he entered the army in 1892; was Adjutant to the 5th Middlesex in South Africa; was promoted Major in 1909; was in Malta when the war began; was wounded at Loos 25 Sept. 1915, and promoted Lt-Col in October 1915. I do not know how he was fatally wounded. His wife interests me because she annually placed an In Memoriam notice in the papers from 1917 until 1954, each time including a different epigraph. I'd be grateful for any additional information.

Morning

1901 census has this slightly inaccurate record

Name: Edith Q Ash

Estimated Birth Year: abt 1865

Relation: Wife

Spouse's Name: William C C

Where born: Birmingham, Warwickshire, England

Civil Parish: Woolwich

Ecclesiastical parish: St John the Evangelist

County/Island: London

Street address: 1 Nightingale Place, Woolwich.

Condition as to marriage:

Education:

Employment status:

View Image

Registration district: Woolwich

Sub registration district: Woolwich

ED, institution, or vessel: 5

Neighbors: View others on page

Household schedule number: 10

Household Members: