Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Letters of condolence from Hospital Staff to relatives

Bob Chandler

In researching the village war memorial I came across a case where a man died of wounds at one of the Stationary Hospitals at Rouen. In the article about him in the local paper it stated that letters of sympathy were sent to his parents by the Chaplin and Matron, telling as it put it of his fortitude under suffering.

Since writing up my research I've been contacted by a nephew of this man who has asked whether the writing of such letters was a matter of course, part of their 'duties' so to speak, or whether it was a more spontaneous and personal expression of sympathy in individual cases.

I don't know the answer - I suspect the former - can anyone help?

Many thanks

Charles

Don't get me wrong for one minute - I'm no expert on this and therefore posting purely as a gut reaction.....

Letters from a Chaplain were not unusual - bearing in mind the soldier died in a hospital the soldiers 'Officer' can't really comment upon his death so I would GUESS (nothing more than that) that his responsibility would be passed to the Matron?

In which case the practice would have been widespread....?

I'd like to learn from those with more knowledge on the matter.

I have read a letter expressing sympathy and detailing wounds and cause of death. A list of effects and how some, not returned, were disposed of. This letter, written in English was from a German doctor of a German hospital where the prisoner had died.

My grandmother received notification of my Uncle Harold's death from the nursing sister who was with him when he died. No other person informed the family of my Uncle's death.

The Sister's letter is still in the family.

Bright Blessings

Sandra