Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

I'm off to Gallipoli

mjk

Hello:

This is my first post so I am a raw recruit.

I have been to France and Belgium many times. I live in Canada and I'm a history teacher. Although I spend a great deal of time on the Somme I have always wanted to visit Gallipoli. I am in the early planning stages for a trip in 2005. So I have a number of questions.

1. Where should I stay?

2. I plan to go for a week, and spend most of it on foot. Is the battlefield walkable if I only have a week there. (travel time March or April)

3. I would like to go in April for the anniversary, if so do I book now!?

4. I will more than likely be travelling alone, how safe is it?

5. From Canada what is the easiest way to get there, ie. land at Istanbul and hire a car?

Thanks for any help

Mike

Mike,

I've been only once and it was with a large group. See related tread under Battles, battlefields and places, "Gallipoli May 02". None the less I'll take first stab but more seasoned Gallipoli visitors will soon join in and square up things.

2. I plan to go for a week, and spend most of it on foot. Is the battlefield walkable if I only have a week there. (travel time March or April) The battlefield is walkable but be prepared, it's very rough country. In most places it's also very remote. Good walking boots, long pants, a sun hat, and water are a must!

3. I would like to go in April for the anniversary, if so do I book now!? It may already be too late but I'll let other more experienced Pals comment on this.

4. I will more than likely be travelling alone, how safe is it? I'm not a fan of traveling alone and I'd be really hesitant about doing Gallipoli alone. This is due mainly to the rough terrain and remoteness of the area. Also packs of wild dogs are a problem.

5. From Canada what is the easiest way to get there, ie. land at Istanbul and hire a car? That's how I'd do it.