Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Research fallen hero

alanwatts1@aol.com

Im a mature student and am completing a biography on John Henry Scott (known as Harry) who was killed in action August 6th 1916. Pte John Hy Scott, reg no 11054 was noted as being a member of the 1st Battalion Notts and Derby, Sherwood Foresters.

Harry served in India at the outbreak of the war and was despatched to France Nov 1914. Having taken part in the battles of Neuve Chapelle and Festubert and action in the Dardenelles he was sent to Egypt before returning to France at the beginning of July 1916.

I'd be grateful if anyone could provide information around Harry's soldiering backgound, battalion action and in particular knowledge that may assist in determining how he died as I believe the detachment may not have been in the trenches on the 6th August and may well have been preparing for action the following day.

Any assistance is gratefully appreciated.

Soldiers Died In Gt War has him as:

9th Batt Sherwood Foresters(Notts and Derby)

Born Lincoln.Enlisted Newark,Resident Lincoln

KIA 6/8/16

Pte 11054.

Ady

AW

A quick point from the Commonwealth War Graves Commission site. He is shown there as being 9 Bn Notts and Derby but attached to the 8th Battalion South Staffordshire at the time of his death. Both of these Battalions were attached to 33 Brigade of 11 Division so they would have ben in the same general area. It may be that one Battalion was in reserve whilst the other elements were at the front,which is what you may be suggesting in your note.