Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lt Col AGB Turner 13th Lancers Indian Army

alacrity174

Hi I am new to army research as I normally collect Royal Navy groups, but I have accquired a DSO medal group to Lt Col Turner who I know was gazettted on 25 Aug 1917 in the London Gazette. How can I find out what it was for or get a copy of the recommend? I have some biographical details but no details of the 13 Lancers (Watsons Horse ) activities in the war apart from Mesopotamia force, is there a book on the regiment. Thank you very much. Being in deepest Devon there is not much about the Indian Army down here. If anyone needs Plymouth photos or research I might be able to help

All the best, great site

A nice DSO group but there is no citation for his DSO published in the London Gazette so it is going to be rather difficult to find what he recieved the award for unless their is something in the regiment's war diary. Regards. Dick Flory

You could try getting his papers from the India Office.

I have been researching an officer in 19th Lancers (Fane'sHorse), who served from 1902 to 1932. I usually do my own research at Kew, but decided to use a researcher to get the India Office papers as it was a very limited job I wanted doing.

Cost £10.00 for the researcher's time and £42 for the copies! (I'll never grumble about the cost of copying at Kew again. Well, yes I will....)

Very little in my file relating to the Great War, as most of the papers were confidential reports, which seem to have stopped over the relevant period. However, quite a lot of other useful info. It's worth a try.

Contact me 'off forum' is you want details of the researcher I used.

Regards,

Geoff

Hi