Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Fusiliers 43rd (Garrison) Bn

richard lock

I'm new to all this and am almost totally ignorant ... but am researching the service details of my father, W.E. Lock, in the RF 43rd in 1919. He was transferred from the RWF in Ireland, in Feb 1919 as acting captain. He was apparently mentioned in despatches (gazetted July 8 1919) -- this would be odd if he was still in Ireland wouldn't it? Was the 43rd still in France at that time? (Is there anyone out there?????) Thanks.

Richard Lock

Richard

Welcome to the forum, I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay and a word of warning, it can be very addictive ;) .

W. E. Lock's Mention In Despatches was whilst serving with the 43rd Garrison Battalion Royal Fusiliers according to the London Gazette (#31439, 8 July 1919)

Lock, 2nd Lt. (A./Capt.) W. E., 43rd (Garr.) Bn. Link to the Gazette issue is Here

Also found these entries in the London Gazette which suggest he was in France with the 43rd Bn. before February 1919.....

1. London Gazette #31242, 20 March 1919. Link to Gazette is Here

Garrison Battalions.

R. Fus.

43rd Garr. Bn.

Temp. 2nd Lt. W. E Lock, from 3rd Res. Garr. Bn., R.W. Fus., to be temp. 2nd Lt. (with seniority 20 Aug. 1917),

and to be actg. Capt. while comdg. a Co. 21 Sept. 1918.

Temp. 2nd Lt. (actg. Capt.) W. E. Lock to be temp. Lt. 20 Feb. 1919.

2. London Gazette #31414, 21 June 1919. Link to Gazette is Here

Garrison Battalions.

R. Fus.

43rd Garr. Bn.—

Temp. Lt. W. E. Lock relinquishes the actg. rank of Capt. on ceasing to be empld. 6 May, 1919.

3. London Gazette #32147, 1 December 1920. Link to Gazette is Here

R. Fus.

43rd Garr. Bn.—

Temp. Lt. W. E. Lock relinquishes his commission on completion of service, 2 Dec. 1920, and is granted the rank of Capt.

Regards

Steve

Richard

A little bit more, quoted directly from the Long Long Trail mothersite....

"43rd and 44th (Garrison) Battalions: