Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Request for info about OBs for August 1914

Guest John Ellis

Guest John Ellis

Hello, I am a newbie here, and this is my first post... :huh:

I have browsed the forums here for a while, and done the usual Google searches, but what I need does not seem to be laid out exactly the way I want it. I am creating a computer wargame based on WW1 and need to get some basic info on the starting strengths of the main combatants as at 1/8/1914, at the divisional level.

So far, I seem to have gathered that the German forces on the Western Front consisted of 68 divisions (44 regular, 22 reserve and 2 landwehr), those on the Eastern Front of 16 divisions (6 regular and 10 reserve) and the Northern/Central Reserve of 4 divisions (2 reserve, 2 landwehr). I would appreciate confirmation of this, or otherwise. There seem to be a lot more Landwehr regiments than could be accomodated by those 4 divisions, for example...

I have fairly good info for the British and Belgians, but would like some similar data for the French, Turkish and Russian armies. Any help gratefully received.... :D

Nafziger Homepage

Hi John,

Welcome to the forum. Try the above link to the Nafziger Collection. I can personally recommend both the OOB's and the service. He charges a fee of I think .25 Cents a page or so.

Take care,

Neil

Have been doing much the same for the last few months. I can send you a spreadsheet of what I have so far on the complete German Army structure if you like. I can tell you that many of the Landwehr regiments were held against Gemischte (Mixed?) Landwehr Brigaden attached at Army, or Grosser Hauptquartier level, not as part of divisions.

You can also try these pages (I found them useful):

A Pocket German Army - excellent coverage of some formations. Trying to cross reference the peacetime corps structure with the wartime (which I am doing at the moment) is proving difficult.