Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

10th Essex - W. Webb

archangel9

Hi All,

I am currently researching a soldier of the 10th Essex regiment - Pte. W. Webb, 16470. He was killed in action on 15/10/1917 and is commemorated on the Poelcappelle memorial. Other than that I haven't much else to go on, I know he landed in France on 25/7/1915 with the 10th and from his MIC I assume he stayed with the 10th until his death which seems to coincide with the battle of Pashendale? I am thinking of purchasing the war diary entries for october 1917 from the NA but other than that can anyone advise where I might find more information on both the 10th Essex and W. Webb?

Could anyone supply the relevant pages of Burrows? Also what actions would the 10th have been involved in during the period? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am a novice to research.

Thank you in advance.

Regards

John

There is a history of the 10th Essex by Banks and Chell which doesn't give much detail of that time. The final capture of Poelcapelle and Meunier House by the 10th Essex and a Norfolk Battalion took place on 22nd October. In the week or 2 before that the Essex were holding the sector around Poelcapelle with HQ at Bulow Farm

Hi John,

There is a little bit more, but not much, in Burrows, Volume 6. The 15th October is not specifically mentioned, neither is Pte. Webb. There were patrols out around about the 15th but there is no mention of casualties.

The War Diary also mentions patrols but no casualties.

Rather disappointing I'm afraid. If you send me your email address to MichaelThierensatEeMike.nl, I'll send you scans of the relevant pages of Burrows and the War Diary entries for October 1917.

Cheers,

Michael

John