Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Looking for further information

Ruth Steels

Hi - I am new to this so you will have to bear with me if I look incompetant !!!!

I am trying to find further information about my relative GORDON BARKER - he was born near Halifax in 1894 - the son of Ester and William. He joined the Coldstream Guards as a private and was given the Regimental number of 16534. He first entered the theatre of war on 29.8.1916.

In 1918 he married GERTRUDE KNEESHAW of Market Weighton, East Yorkshire.

He then joined the East Yorkshire Regiment as 2nd lieutenant- presumably around Spring 1918 following his marraige.

From family hearsay Gordon was killed 3 weeks before the end of the war. Gertrude and Gordon's daughter was born in the spring of 1919.

I have checked and double checked Ancestry and the only mention I can find is a copy of the WW1 Medal Rolls Index Card for Gordon Barker which was sent to his widow in 1922 stating which medals he had been awarded - nothing else

I am trying to find out if there is a gravestone anywhere or a memorial with Gordons details on.

Any ideas much appreciated.

PS - Whilst in Belgium a fortnight ago we visited Berks Cemetry Extension and visited the actual graves of my great grandmothers sisters twin sons - Leonard and William Crossley of the Kings Royal Rifles - both killed on the same day and buried next to each other - what an eyeopener -

Hello Baileyjack, welcome to the forum,

this entry from SDGW is the most likely candidate, however, his name is misspelt on the CWGC site, have a look here 2Lt Gordon Barke. Hopefully this is the Gordon that you are looking for and perhaps contact the CWGC with regards the spelling, it could just be a clerical typo on the site, but then the 'R' could be missing from the headstone,

cheers, Jon

post-15439-1222331615.jpg

Hello Baileyjack, welcome to the forum,