Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

NZMR

Gallipoli RAF casualty - some questions

NZMR

Hi

I have some questions regarding Ewart Wimbush. He was killed whilst flying a DH9 from Imbros over Gallipoli. Does anyone know:

The aircraft he was flying at the time he was killed?

How and where exactly was he killed?

What was his DFC for? I can't see him in the London Gazette, but then I'm no expert on searching the LG archive.

Wimbush's brother, LEB Wimbush RNAS died 28/3/1918 - does anyone know the circumstances of his death? KIA, Died accidentally?

Hopefully someone will have some answers!

Thanks very much

Phil

Esskay

Not specific answers Phil - but this entry from Flight magazine of August 8th 1918 gives some background to Ewart

Lieut. EWART AUSTIN BOUSCHIER WIMBUSH, R.A.F., was

the only son of the late John Bourcluer Wimbush, of Rothwell,

Yorkshire, and Maud Howland Jackson, of Ringwood.

He was educated at Stubbington House, Durlston Court, and

in H.M.S. Worcester. At the age of 17, when the war broke

out, he obtained a commission in the R.N.V.R., and after

completing the usual course of gunnery in H.M.S. Excellent,

he was appointed to the Tipperary, but was on sick leave when

the Tipperary went down in the Battle of Jutland, and he was

then appointed to the Carysfort, in which he served until he

volunteered for the R.N.A.S. in 1917. After training he was

sent to the Eastern Mediterranean where he took part in the

bombing of the Goeben. He met his death in a duel over the

enemy lines while on a reconnaissance on May 23rd, his 21st

"birthday. The King had conferred on Lieut. Wimbush the

Distinguished Flying Cross.

And from 4th April 1918 - his brother

Flight Lieutenant LEA EWART BARNES WIMBUSH, R.N.,

who died on March 28th, of injuries received in a flying accident

on the previous day, aged 19, was the eldest son of Mr. and

Mrs. John Wimbush, of 13, Pembroke Gardens, Kensington.

He was educated at Glengorse, Eastbourne, and a t Haileybury.